Mrs Mackerel’s TFI Friday

Well, the week started off in such a promising way with a trip into Oxford to see a spectacularly good production of Midsummer’s Night Dream, played out in mesmerising style by an ensemble from the travelling Shakespeare’s Globe company. All the better that it was the very best MND I’ve seen (and I’ve seen a few) because it was my 12 year old son’s first full length bard play. And he loved it, and to get Shakespeare at that age, I hope will mean a life-long appreciation of something great. (Interestingly, Demetrius looked like he’d stepped right off the cover of Sigh No More.)

But back to music and the week that followed. The good, the bad and the ugly. Carole, you’re nearly 70 and I know you’ll never read this, but small acts of genuine kindness never go unnoticed. The bad and the ugly? No surprises really. You keep telling yourself whatever it is that makes you feel OK with the way you behave.

But stop this gloomy fish nonsense – it’s Friday and by goodness it’s not a cheerful tune this week. So let’s leave on a cheerful note instead and rejoice in the directness of my six year old sprat. “What did you do on your picnic, Joe?” “We ate.” (He didn’t add you dummy, but it hung in the air.) My friend laughed and so did I. Perhaps we could all learn a thing or two: say what you mean, mean what you say.

Nighty.

Mrs M

Here we go for this Friday’s offering: “You win, I’m sadder than you.”  Sadder Than You by Angus and Julia Stone, one of the few decent acts to grace our local Cornbury Festival this year.

Download Angus & Julia Stone – Sadder Than You mp3 (from Heart Full Of Wine EP)

Tell Us What You Think

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.