Mad Mackerel Recommends…The Mountains & The Trees

At the End of the Road Festival I caught the end of the set by The Mountains & The Trees (aka Jon Janes). It was only three or four songs but it was enough to make me want to hear a lot more, and I made a mental note to check him out when I got back. Of course I forgot until a recent random web visit threw the band up in front of me again.

And I am glad it did, for The Mountains & The Trees make some of the loveliest, stripped back, bare bones folk you could hope to hear. Janes is one of those songwriters who is just as much a storyteller, and it gives a depth and feeling to his songs which is rare to find these days. It makes debut album I Made This For You a real treat.

A couple of tracks to sample below, and you can buy the whole thing from their Bandcamp page here.

Visit MySpace here.

Download The Mountains & The Trees – More & More & More mp3 (from I Made This For You)

Download The Mountains & The Trees – Minimum Wage Lovers mp3 (from I Made This For You)

Tell Us What You Think

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.