Mrs Mackerel’s TFI Friday (7th January)

Having risen from my sick bed like a monster from the swamp, I’m once again bouncing around like a boomerang, musically speaking at least. Back we go to the early 1990s to revisit some sort of defining moments in my youth when I’d just met MM; the time of compilation tapes rather than CDs; lots of pints of cider rather than a nice glass of Malbec; purpley-coloured crimped hair versus stick it in a hat because I can’t be bothered.

Rallied from the musical torpor that surrounded the arrival of the sprats, and rejecting the Wheels on the Bus for something a whole lot better, it’s been onwards and upwards ever since.  However, here’s two tunes from the long gone Madder Rose that made me smile a little wistfully. The first although classed as pop, tips a little nod towards punk, and tips an even bigger nod to MM! The second is another shoe-gazing special – I know, I know, I’ll change the record soon.

Happy Friday.

Mrs Mackerel

Download Beautiful John and While Away by Madder Rose – vintage 1993!

Download Madder Rose – Beautiful John mp3 (from Bring It Down)

Download Madder Rose – While Away mp3 (from Bring It Down)

Tell Us What You Think

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.