Mrs Mackerel’s TFI Friday (13th April)

Mrs Mackerel's TFI Friday (13th April). So much can happen in one week, even when you feel that time stands still.

Simone Felice at the Jericho Tavern, for example. There I was, MM photographer for the night, fins flailing, blinding everyone by inadvertently turning on the flash. Fortunately no-one asked me to leave, particularly as it was such a great gig. More like a front room jam.

A couple of days later, a brief trip to Pembrokeshire to see Big Spanner did not bode well as we drove through horizontal rain. I congratulated myself heartily that we hadn’t managed to sort out the camping stuff in time… But the rain abated and the sun came out, so down to the crab bridge we went. Old friends, gold friends; all that fresh air put some colour in my cheeks, as my ma would say.

MM turned another year older. Somewhere another fairy died in agony, crying is it half time already? Plenty of time for Everton to stick another four in.

I squeaked and gasped my way through the criminally violent action of the latest Scandinavian crime flick. At one point my cardigan was tightly over my head, armed robber styley, and I watched nervously through the holes, much to the amusement of Movie Mate. We’re opting for more of a delicacy next week. A fish of such a fragile disposition: why does no-one else get so involved?

I now have my very own playlist side bar on the website. How excited and grandiose do I feel?! But to pick a Friday tune from this week? It’s not easy.

Hold your head up, keep your heart strong.

Mrs Mackerel x

Variation on a theme this week, all dedicated to the incredibly brave two year old Liberty Bradbury and her mum, my very dear friend, the High Priestess of St Urt’s. Made of Teflon, you Bradburys, and filled with love. Mended and home from hospital soon, please.

Download Tammy Rochelle – Liberty mp3 (from Liberty Spoke To Me)

Download Joanna Newsom – Clam, Crab, Cockle, Cowrie mp3 (from The Milk-Eyed Mender)

Download Alela Diane – Can You Blame The Sky? mp3 (from The Pirate’s Gospel)

Download Beach House – Norway mp3 (from Teen Dream)

Tell Us What You Think

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.