Mrs Mackerel’s TFI Friday (4th May)

Mrs Mackerel's TFI Friday (4th May).

Last Saturday night way up yonder where the North wind doth blow, in an Italian restaurant (suppressing the urge to quote Billy Joel here for fear of reprisals), I had a little tête-à-tête with MON. My blushing was off the scale on the rouge-ometer but he was every bit as erudite, charming and utterly splendid as I thought he would be. Renounce your team and become a disciple of MON, tis the only way, dammit.

Party-party tomorrow and quite a glam one at that. Hoping desperately that my charity shop find, plus borrowed garb, comes together – and that I manage to keep my shoes on my feet for a change. Variously, over the years, they have been shut in toilets, left behind, travelled in their own taxi, and most recently, abandoned in favour of a wander home in the rain. Good job the High Priestess (with previous in shoe crimes too) is returned to civilisation this weekend to keep me on the high and narrow.

All was not bright in my Northern sky last weekend and I started the week with a heavy heart and teary eye. This week ends on a distinctly happier note: little Liberty is home after a four week stay in hospital (armed with diagnosis and medication) and my youngest sprat is eight years old today.

Joe is getting a guitar. The sort of guitar he nearly ended up with is another story (gullible fish with blancmange for brains versus canny shopkeeper with one eye on the till). Big thanks to troubadour Ned for his invaluable help at the eleventh hour.

So these songs are for my baby: his favourite band is The Felice Brothers and he wants to learn to play The Ramones. Happy birthday, little dude.

Mama Mackerel x

I’ve written far too much verbiage this week for MM (album review, gig review) and now it seems I can’t shut up.

Several things have rippled the blancmange today: firstly, Richard Hawley’s new album is out on Monday (wild waving of fins in excitement); secondly, Willy Mason is playing The Tabernacle on 30 May (Restless Fugitive being an office fave and sure-fire top ten contender) – recommended viewing; and thirdly, kindly troubadour Ned who helped me find my “lost” car on Tuesday night is himself a singer/songwriter and is playing at Proud Camden as part of Camden Crawl on Monday. Check him out at www.nedwalker.net.

Download The Ramones – Beat On The Brat mp3 (from The Ramones)

Download The Ramones – My Brain Is Hanging Upside Down (Bonzo Goes To Bitburg) mp3 (from Animal Boy)

Download The Felice Brothers – Patty mp3 (from Poughkeepsie Princess EP)

Download The Felice Brothers – Fire At The Pageant mp3 (from Celebration, Florida)

Download The Felice Brothers – Frankie’s Gun mp3 (from The Felice Brothers)

Download The Felice Brothers – Run Chicken Run mp3 (from Yonder Is The Clock)

Download The Felice Brothers – Rockefeller Druglaw Blues mp3 (from Tonight At The Arizona)

Download The Felice Brothers – Behind That Locked Door mp3 (from Mojo Tribute To George Harrison)

Tell Us What You Think

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.